Senate Democratic Caucus re-elects leadership

Senate Democratic Caucus Leadership for the 112th General Assembly: (Left to right) Senate Floor Leader Sen. Brenda Gilmore; Democratic Caucus Chairwoman Sen. Raumesh Akbari; and Senate Minority Leader Sen. Jeff Yarbro

NASHVILLE — The Tennessee Senate Democratic Caucus formally elected its leaders Thursday to serve through the 112th General Assembly, which convenes Jan. 12 at noon.

By acclimation, the caucus re-elected Sen. Jeff Yarbro as senate minority leader, Sen. Raumesh Akbari as caucus chairwoman and Sen. Brenda Gilmore to serve as the senate floor leader.

Caucus members also nominated its newest member, Sen. Heidi Campbell, to serve on the Fiscal Review Committee.



Tennessee Senate Democrats

Fighting for everyday people in the Tennessee General Assembly